The Main Ingredient Episode #54 (May 25, 2010)

The Main Ingredient Episode #54 (May 25, 2010)
aretha franklin – one step (featurecast re-edit) (wah dubplate)
oddisee – the riches instrumental (oddisee)
charlie smarts – lovin’ me ((mixtape))
erykah badu – turn me away (get munny) (universal motown)
electirc wire hustle – gimme that kinda (wonderful noise)
fat freddy’s drop – pull the catch (the drop)
fashawn – pass the cohiba freestyle ((unofficial))
roy ayers ubiquity – ain’t no sunshine (polydor)
oddisee – birds & bees feat. diamond district (oddisee)
marvin gaye – you (motown)
cee-lo – i want you (prod by jack splash) ((forthcoming))
patti labelle – music is my way of life (epic)
homemade – bump this (barcadi visita)
the salsoul orchestra – you’re just the right size (salsoul)
coultrain – balancing act (record breakin’)
dj day – mo’horizons – ay y n’ama (day remix) (mpm)
banda black rio – casa forte (atlantic)
the detroit experiment – enterluud (rope-a-dope)
bugz in the attic – worla hurt (v2)
nicolay – saturday night (feat. carlitta durand) (foreign exchange)
reel people – second guess (feat. jag) (papa)
joy jones – this too shall pass (daz-i-kue mix) (record breakin)
rhianna – word love (jay’s extended mix) (sony soho square)
probe dms – frogspawn (dms country)
oddisee – anticipation (feat. kingpin slim) (oddisee)
blu – nachos
the main ingredient – no tears (in the end) (rca)
king floyd – i feel like dynamite (chimneyville)
the wild tchoupitoulas – hey pocky a-way (antilles)

SFNY DJs: Freddy Anzures + Marky AKA Proof (San Francisco) In The Studio for Episode #53 (May 18, 2010)

A photo from the SFNY recap with Freddy & Marky dropping tons of boogie gems on last night’s The Main Ingredient.

My Set
mux mool – merlinfist! (moodgadget)
oddisee – i’m from pg (oddisee)
bullion – god only knows (free download)
mos def – pistola (downtown)
issac hayes – hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic (enterprise)

SFNY DJs Marky (aka Proof) and Freddy Anzures ( Tag Team Set
kings go fourth – high on your love (luaka bop)
sharon jones & the dap-kings – i learned the hard way (daptone)
daktaris – up side down (now again)
shake – lost in space (bbe)
alfanzo – actions speak louder than words (larc)
trus’me – sucker for a pretty face (prime numbers)
the isley brothers – love zone (epic)
eddy grant – everybody dance (marco)
hugh masekela – don’t go lose it baby (stretch mix) (arista)
s.o.s. band – high hopes (tabu)
architeq – mind games feat llija rudman (tirk)
brooklyn creams – sir woolfy (white label)
orlando johnson and trance – turn the music on (aero)
i level – give me (epic)
imagination – just an illusion lindstrom dub (juno)
michael jackson – dave “jam” hall’s extended urban remix (epic)
doug lazy – let it roll (grove street)
rob base & d.j. e-z rock – get on the dance floor (profile)
donald byrd and 125th street, n.y.c. – love has come around (elektra)
wanda – I must dreamin (shred one remix) (elektra)
masurrati and huey harris – superduper (lovin) dub (lioness)
cherrelle – saturday love (extended) (tabu)
california flight project – california flight (black diamond)

DJ Eko (Santa Cruz) In The Studio for Episode #52 (May 11, 2010)

A photo from DJ Eko’s guest DJ on last night’s The Main Ingredient.

My Set
hypnotic brass ensemble – spottie (choice cuts)
bullion – lets go away for a while (mixtape)
tiron 60901
ty – special kind of fool (bbe)
alicia keys – wreckless love (j)
erik rico – wonderful (life notes)
me’shell ndegeocello – dead nigga blvd. (pt. 2) (maverick)
omar – tell me (oyster)
bjork – venus as a boy (elektra)
dwele – body rock (koch)
stephanie mckay – tell it like it is (astralwerks)
the police – walking on the moon (a&m)
k-os – crucial (astralwerks)
aaliyah v. santogold – are you that somebody? (scribe mash) (unofficial)
la melodia – working on it (record breakin)
bilal – gotsta be cool (unreleased)
choklate – long way (kajmere)
oddisee – sligo creek (oddisee)
miles bonny – blue and green (innatesounds)
electric wire hustle – perception (wonderful noise)

DJ Eko’s Set
beats antique – oriental uno
mims – this is why i’m hot (instrumental)
mos def – no hay nada mas (downtown)
bahamadia – spontaneity (chrysalis)
7 samurai – marlies and marcus (g.a.m.m.)
erykah badu – gone baby, don’t be long (motown)
goapele – milk and honey (aybee’s gorilla in trunk slap) (skyblaze)
stardust – music sounds better with you (mux mool remix)
quadron – jeans (plug research)
quantic soul orchestra – follow me (rebtuz)
marlena shaw – california soul (verve)
dj drm – somberosie (bstrd boots)
fingerbangerz – joy remix (instrumental)
modeselektor – hasir (bpitch control)
maxwell – bad habits (brolic beats)
j dilla – saftey dance (stones throw)
dinner at the thompson’s – daily vitamins (2good/earth at work)
latyrx – lady don’t tek no (solesides)
electric wire hustle – tom boy (wonderful noise)
jneiro jarel – breathin (kindred spirits)
fingazz – outstanding (vocoder version) (east side)
ruth brown – i don’t know (mca)
guess who vs mary j blige – these eyes love real hip hop
collen and webb – downside up (g.a.m.m.)
erykah badu – cleva (captain planet remix) (bstrd boots)
efrain ‘mon’ rivera – lluvia con neive (fania)
hot 8 brass band – sexual healing (club re-edit) (tru thoughts)
z trip – i don’t need this trouble (decon)
quentin harris – beautiful black women come from brooklyn (soul candi)
waajeed – jamaica funk feat monica blaire (unreleased)
nicolay – wake up in another life (foreign exchange music)

Quadron (Copenhagen) In The Studio for Episode #51 (May 4, 2010)

Quadron in the studio during last night’s The Main Ingredient. (iPhone pic courtesy of @DeePhunk).

My Set
guilty simpson – friends only (bonus 45) (stones throw)
open souls – sweetlove (mabanua remix) (wonderful noise)
africa hi tec – too late feat rio (red bull music academy)
ty – emotions (dego and akwasi’s 2000 black remix) (bbe)

Quadron (Robin Hannibal & Coco Malaika) Interview
quadron – average fruit (plug research)
quadron – simili life (plug research)
quadron – pressure (plug research)
quadron – unpatience (plug research)

Robin & Coco Select The Tracks
cody chestnut – come back like spring (none)
stevie wonder – send one your love (music) (motown)
slyvia striplin – you can’t turn me away (champagne)
johnathan johnasson – innan vi faller (hybris)
ozomatli vs. kcrw – love comes down (anne litt remix) (mercer street / downtown records)
r. kelly – whole lotta kisses (jive)
george mccrae – i get lifted (t.k. records)
boom clap bachelors – foraar til december (music for dreams)
j. bless – slick (my favorite things)
yvette michelle – everynight, everyday (loud/rca)
quadron – day (plug research)
jill scott – the way (hidden beach)
philip owusu – the followers (forthcoming)