The Main Ingredient Episode #21 (September 29, 2009)

The Main Ingredient Episode #21 (September 29, 2009)
dj kaos & ce.el – around in circles (compost)
rotary connection – i am the black gold of the sun (stateside)
kool and the gang – summer madness (live) (de-lite)
rjd2 – smoke and mirrors (def jux)
troubleneck brothers – back to the hip hop (stepsun entertainment)
bilal – get out of my hair (unreleased)
bugz in the attic – consequences (v2)
willie hutch – brother’s gonna work it out (motown)
ay y n’ama – mo’ horizons (dj day remix) (mpm)
jazzanova – another new day (jcr)
fertile ground – colors of the night (blackout studios)
youngblood brass band – is our elegy (ozone)
james brown – king heroin (polydor)
quincy jones – summer in the city (a&m)
two banks of four – one day (red egyptian jazz)
freddie hubbard – little sunflower (columbia)
res – 700 mile situation (mca)
east of underground – i love you for all seasons (wax poetics records)
the new birth – you’re what i’m all about (rca)
gil scott heron and brian jackson – we almost lost detroit (arista)
yusef lateef – nubian lady (atlantic)
aretha franklin – hey no hey (the other side of the sky) (atlantic)
dakah hip hop orchestra – rootrilOG (scion)

Joy Jones (Los Angeles) In The Studio for Episode #20 (September 22, 2009)

The Main Ingredient Episode #20 (September 22, 2009)
billy paul – let the dollar circulate (philadelphia international records)
fela – miles bonny innate sounds
ragen fykes and ohmega watts – rhythm of the drum (record breakin)
michael jackson – were almost there (motown)
jill scott – bedda at home (yam who remix) (beddalove)
stacy epps – floatin (brownswood)
gecko turner featuring eska – monosabio blues (phillip owusu remix) (lovemonk)
freddie cruger – freddie’s groove (swedish brandy)

Joy Jones Interview
joy jones – this too (love jones / future soul)
joy jones – supernova (love jones / future soul)
joy jones – over (love jones / future soul)
joy jones – joy pt2 (drop it mix by daru jones) (record breakin)
joy jones – be my husband (unreleased)
joy jones – promised land (love jones / future soul)
joy jones – constellations (love jones / future soul)

Joy Jones Picks The Tracks
reggie b. – reclaim ur mind (innate sounds)
minnie riperton – adventures in paradise (epic)
agent k – feed the cat (laws of motion)
little dragon – place to belong (peacefrog)
patrice rushen – settle for my love (elektra)
take – fall in love again (eat concrete)
fela ransome kuti and africa 70 – water no get enemy (mca)
debarge – all this love (gordy)

Joy Jones (Los Angeles) on The Main Ingredient 9/22!

Following her 9/19 show at SOB’s, Joy Jones (L.A.) will be my guest on The Main Ingredient! Her album Godchild, released in July on Future Soul Records, is a thing of beauty. We’ll be playing some tracks from the album, I’ll ask her a few questions and then she’ll play some music that’s influenced her and music from her favorite current artists. Tune in!

The Main Ingredient Episode #19 (September 15, 2009)

The Main Ingredient Episode #19 (September 15, 2009)
bilal – sorrow tears and blood (unreleased)
common – time travelin’ (fela tribute) (geffen)
topaz – minha mente (velour records)
noir desir – le vent nous portera
oddisee – what’s crazy feat j-live (oddisee music)
the blackbyrds – the baby (fantasy)
the roots – ya’ll know who (rapster)
bling 47 – tron (bling 47)
jazzanova – takes you back (unexpected dub) (electric sheep mix) (compost)
me’shell ndegeocello – the womb/the way (maverick)
dionne farris – passion (columbia)
common – one-nine-nine-nine (rawkus)
ocote soul sounds and adrian quesada – vendende saude y fe (eighteenth street lounge music)
pete rock feat vinia mojica – mind blowin’ (rca)
isaac hayes – joy (enterprise/stax)
rjd2 – sell the world (def jux)
finley quaye – falling (550/epic)
steve spacek – slave (sound in color)
guru – revelation (chrysalis)
cold as ice – m.o.p. (cadet)
charles bradley and the menahan street band – the world (going up in flames) (dunham/dapton)
nina simone – 4 women (dj obah’s recycled funk remix) (BSTRD Boots)
the dells – bring back the love of yesterday (loud)
afta-1 – nightlight (mpm)
gene page – jungle eyes (atlantic)

Shafiq Husayn (Los Angeles) In The Studio for Episode #18 (September 8, 2009)

The Main Ingredient Episode #18 (September 8, 2009)
Lee Fields & The Expressions – Last Ride
Eric Roberson – 4u
Femi Kuti – Sorry Sorry
Four Tet – As Serious As You Life Is (Jay Dee Remix Featuring Guilty Simpson)
Koncept Sparkz – Turn It Up (Instrumental)

Shaft Husayn Interview
Sa-Ra Creative Partners – (jazzy sport import instrumental)
Shafiq Husayn – The U.N. Plan
Sa-Ra Creative Partners – Souls Brother
Shafiq Husayn – Cheeba ft Bilal
Shafiq Husayn – Lil Girl
Sa-Ra Creative Partners – (other jazzy sport import instrumental)
Shafiq Husayn – Lost and Found
Shafiq Husayn – Dust & Kisses
Shafiq Husayn – Dust & Kisses
Shafiq Husayn – No Moor
Sly & The Family Stone – Just Like A Baby
Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth – In The Flesh
The Beatles – Don’t Let Me Down
Jamiroquai – Feels Just Like It Should (Sa-Ra Remix Instrumental)

Miles Bonny – Take It On Back
Black Milk – Bounce
Visioneers (Marc Mac Presents) – Funk Box (Twelve Beats Return Remix)
Pete Rock – One MC One DJ (Featuring Skillz)
Oddisee – Sand To The Beach
Linn – Available (Hearin’ Aid Remix)
Dwele – A.N.G.E.L. (Reprise) featuring Slum Village
Amp Fiddler – Not
Crown City Rockers – No Sense
Danny Breaks – Junkie For Beatz
Waajeed – Get Live
The Roots – Water
Slum Village – EZ Up
Nicolay – I Love The Way You Love (Instrumental) (Japan Bonus Track)

Shafiq Husayn (Sa-Ra/Los Angeles) on the Main Ingredient 9/8!

Shafiq Husayn, 1/3 of Sa-Ra Creative Partners will join me on the The Main Ingredient this Monday night!

From his bio:

Shafiq Husayn is a Master Teacher, someone who combines innate talent with the mental and spiritual focus needed to reach their potential. As one third of the stellar, groundbreaking production trio Sa-Ra Creative Partners, Shafiq has been using his prowess to assist some of the greatest musicians of our generation, from Herbie Hancock to J Dilla to Dr. Dre to Erykah Badu. This fall Shafiq takes a step away from collective efforts to direct his own opus—his long-awaited debut album on Plug Research entitled Shafiq En’ A-Free-Ka.

The Main Ingredient Episode #17 (September 1, 2009)

The Main Ingredient Episode #17 (September 1, 2009)
dead prez – wolves
sa-ra creative partners – love czars (ubiquity)
eric roberson – the newness (blue erro soul)
oddisee – chocolate city dreaming (oddisee music)
kissy asplund – move me (record breakin)
q-tip – blue girl
nicolay – there’s no guarantee (bbe)
de la soul – forever
j dilla – so far to go (bbe)
dutch massive – i want her (instrumental)
dorian concept – freehanded monkey
sygaire & defcon – check out ya mind (gamm)
d’angelo – chicken grease (virgin)
dibia$e – come get it
outkast – hollywood divorce (arista)
el michels affair – bring the ruckus (truth and soul)
jay electronica – exhibit a (transformations)
pharcyde – jealousy (delicious vinyl)
take – tuesday never comes
looptroop – dm-87
auntie’s lock – flying lotus with the life force trio
oj & crate – formula 1
little dragon – place to belong (peace frog)
dj day and miles bonny – still miles (mpm)
alice russell – hurry on now (tru thoughts)
diamond district – let me explain (oddissee music)
roisin murphy – leaving the city
anthony hamilton – where did it go wrong?
quantic – trouble from the river (tru thoughts)
jazztronauts – zig weten wel
zapp – computer love (warner brothers)
staple singers – let’s do it again (curtom)