DJ Junior (Philly) In The Studio for Episode #99 (April 12, 2011)

A photo from DJ Junior‘s interview and guest set from last night’s The Main Ingredient.

My Set
exile – summer song (take remix) (plug research)
ypnotiq – love (self-released)
tall black guy – breath and air featuring cilla k (self-released)
ta-ku & kit pop – bounce (paperchain)
peace – carlitta durand (self-released)
little dragon – looking glass (trackademics’ quasar gazer remix) (peacefrog)
parallel dance ensemble – annie
green parrot – sleeping giants (boglewaltz)
finale – issues (interdependent)
mo kolours – biddies (one-handed music)
dj mitsu the beats – intro (grooveman spot remix) (planet groove)

DJ Junior‘s All Vinyl/45s Set
kissey asplund – move me (recordbreakin)
sarah vaughn – mystery of man (rapson re-work) (promo only)
coultrain – the wanderer (recordbreakin)
title – sidechain reaction (on point)
dwilt sharpp – i need you close featuring lorett fleur (favorite)
eric lau – i feel fine featuring rahel (brownswood)
la melodia – workin’ on it featuring steve hartley (recordbreakin)
dotmatic – it’s yours (recordbreakin)
mophono – the edge (skip on beat remix) (cb)
robert glasper – j-dillalude (simon s edit) (soulclap)
the liquid crystal project – a tribute to dilla (unique/groove attacl)
liquid crystal project – another tribute to dilla (polar/jazzy sport)
sylvia & the moments – sho nuff boogie (all platinum)
j dilla – dirty crushin’ (stones throw)
10cc – the worst band in the world (uk)
rf – thnx 4 dilla! (farah re-edit) (timeless)
visioneers – runnin’ (omniverse)
pharcyde – runnin’ (delicious vinyl)
the louie gee ensemble – scrabble (jazzy sport)
rene cosy – scrabble (dynamite soul)
jay dee – f*ck the police (adidas)
kalyanji anadji – theme music (sad) (dynamite soul)
n.w.a. – 100 miles and runnin’ (ruthless)
public ememy – bring the noise (def jam)
dennis coffey and the detroit guitar band – scorpio (sussex)
paul jackson – quack quack quack (souladelica)
the highlighters band – funky 16 corners (jazzman)
maceo – tighten up (dynamite)
the bamboos – tighten up (tru thoughts)
yellow magic orchestra – tighten up (a&m)
the meters – the handclapping song (josie)
booker t. & the m.g.’s – melting pot (stax)
the winstons – amen, brother (metromedia)
sweet salvation – rock steady (elektra)
angelina goalie & the football funkateers – rock steady! (beefjerky edit) (killer funk)
the beginning of the end – funky nassau part 1 (alston)
funky nassau – look what you can get (kenny dope edit) featuring carlos (kay-dee)
afrique – soul makossa (mainstream)
soopasoul – it’s just begun (soopasoul)
spinnerty – just listen part 2 (dj limbs remix) featuring jacqueline marie (recordbreakin)
salsoul orchestra – salsoul 3001 (salsoul)
azymuth – carnival (milestone)
fela kuti (“fella cutie”) – water no get enemy (unreleased edit) (killer funk)
fela kuti – shakara (emi/pathe)

i, ced – wherever u go / gone by now (recordbreakin)
j1 the deer – take flight featuring ragen fykes (recordbreakin)
terminal b (gate 5) – dj junior (recordbreakin)

The Main Ingredient is a weekly radio show covering brand new soulful underground music from around the world, featuring as in-studio interviews with the artists making it. New episodes can be found Wednesdays at noon at The show began in May 2009 as a weekly broadcast from East Village Radio’s storefront studio on 1st Ave. & 1st St. in NYC and continued there until EVR closed it doors in May 2014. This episode is from the East Village Radio Archives.